About The Right to Repair Coalition 2010

The Coalition for Auto Repair Equality is a national, nonprofit organization representing major companies in the $200 billion-a-year, five million people-strong Automotive Aftermarket. CARE’s underlying role is to ensure that consumers nationwide receive safe, affordable and convenient vehicle repair and service.

CARE was formed in April 1991, by a national coalition of aftermarket companies to successfully combat a pro-monopoly, anti-competition, anti-consumer congressional bill known as The Design Innovation and Technology Act of 1991, HR 1790.

A sample of members include NAPA, Midas, CARQUEST, AutoZone, Advance Auto, Jiffy Lube, O’Reilly’s Auto Parts and CSK Auto (parent company of Checker, Schucks, Kragen) and thousands of independent small businesses. CARE represents these well known automotive part stores as well as independent repair shops, "do it yourself" stores and distributors. CARE membership is comprised of approximately 20,058 vehicle repair facilities and 14,762 auto supply and accessory retail locations nationwide.

In addition, CARE represents many car care interests for groups such as car enthusiasts, hobbyists, owners of older cars, and thousands of "mom and pop" shops.

CARE membership represents distributors, rebuilders, jobbers and retailers for parts and service of "Motor Vehicles" which include: automobiles, light and heavy duty trucks, motorcycles, recreational vehicles and off-road vehicles such as agricultural and construction equipment, marine engines, small and stationary engines, all-terrain vehicles and lawn-mowers.

Other businesses sell equipment, chemicals, accessories, body repair supplies and products that enhance vehicles such as polish and paint.


CARE's mission is to continue the fight for The Vehicle Owner's Bill of Rights in Congress and in the State Legislatures.

Vehicle Owner's Bill of Rights

  • U.S. Vehicle Owners have the right:
  • To competitive prices and high quality motor vehicle parts.
  • To choose where and how to maintain their motor vehicle.
  • To be free from federal and state legislation that would restrict their freedom of choice.

Acting President
Ray Pohlman:

Executive Director:
Sandy Bass-Cors

Operations Director:
Sheldon Johnson

Stay informed! Sign up for email updates: 

To view a list of our partners, click here.